share our page on:

EPSA 2019 Final Events & Award Ceremony

Access presentations and photos

EPSA 2019 Home / EPSA in a nutshell / EPSA 2019 Theme EPSA 2019 Theme

EPSA 2019 Theme

New solutions to complex challenges – A public sector citizen-centric, sustainable and fit for the future

Under the overarching theme “New solutions to complex challenges – a public sector citizen-centric, sustainable and fit for the future”, EPSA 2019 seeks to showcase and reward those cases submitted by public administrations which have found new solutions in public service delivery and policy-making for the increasingly complex, difficult to address and often multi-dimensional challenges faced by the public sector in Europe. These challenges come at a time of an increasingly rapid pace of change, requiring public sector bodies to address both immediate needs and issues with important future consequences and to effectively prioritise their actions.

In many cases the new solutions called for by this theme are needed because previously tried solutions may no longer be able to respond to “wicked” problems in many areas where resources are often dispersed among different stakeholders and citizens have multiple needs and growing demands that require different approaches.

EPSA 2019 thus aims to reward creative solutions in public administrations that show how the public sector is responding effectively to major challenges.

Read the Call text for more information and watch the EPSA 2019 promotion video.

The EPSA 2019 Award Categories

All levels of public administration will be rewarded since the theme aims to be inclusive. Therefore, EPSA 2019 will present awards in three categories based on the level of administration.

Category 1: Projects/cases submitted by organisations from the European or national level.

The European level refers to European institutions/ agencies and the national level refers to the level of sovereign states.

Category 2: Projects/cases submitted by organisations from the regional level.
The regional level refers to the first level of administrative and political sub-division of a state.

Category 3: Projects/cases submitted by organisations from the supra-local or local level.

The supra-local and local level refers to the administrative and political levels below the regional level.

In case of projects that include partners from different levels of government, the administrative category will be defined by the status of the lead applicant as designated by the partners.

This will enable the recognition of good practice at all levels of government, which may include co-operative actions between different levels within the public sector.

There will be three levels of recognition in each administrative category - category award winner, nominees for category award winner and best practice certificate winners.

For further information, you can also consult the EPSA 2019 leaflet.