share our page on:

EPSA 2019 Final Events & Award Ceremony

Access presentations and photos

EPSA 2019 Home / EPSA in a nutshell / EPSA 2019 target group & eligibility criteria

EPSA 2019 target group & eligibility criteria

All European public sector entities from all administrative levels, as well as public sector enterprises and agencies, are eligible to submit their projects for the award.

In concrete terms, this includes all public entities from cities, local authorities, the supra-local (provincial) and regional level, as well as public sector organisations at national and European level.

Projects can be submitted jointly by more than one applicant but must designate a lead applicant.

The lead applicant must be a public sector entity - other applicants can, however, be private or mixed-capital entities, not for profit/third sector organisations or academic institutions.

EPSA 2019 will present awards in three categories based on the level of administration.

Category 1: Projects/cases submitted by organisations from the European or national level.
The European level refers to European institutions/ agencies and the national level refers to the level of sovereign states.  


 Category 2: Projects/cases submitted by organisations from the regional level. 
The regional level refers to the first level of administrative and political sub-division of a state.

Category 3: Projects/cases submitted by organisations from the supra-local or local level.
The supra-local and local level refers to the administrative and political levels below the regional level.


Bulgaria: national level; supra-local and local level: Obshtina (municipalities).

France: national level; regional level: régions (mainland and overseas regions); supra-local and local level:départements, municipalités.

Norway: national level; regional level: fylkeskommune (counties); supra-local and local level: kommune (municipalities).

Poland: national level; regional level: Voivodship - Województwo; supra-local and local level: powiaty(councils/districts), gminy (municipalities).

Spain: national level; regional level: comunidades autónomas, ciudades autónomas; supra-local and local:provincias diputaciones, municipios.

Eligibility criteria to be fulfilled by the applicants are:

  • The lead applicant is a public sector entity
  • European geographical origin of the applicant (see the list of eligible countries);
  • Relevance to the theme of EPSA 2019
  • The application/project/case must have been in operation long enough to have proven evidence of impact and a tangible result
  • Application form completed in English
  • Confirmation that the application has been submitted, i.e. notification mail before the extended deadline of 5th of May 2019 at 24.00 Central European Time (CET).

Projects benefitting from EU supportive actions, such as the European Social Fund (ESF) Thematic Objective 11 (‘Enhancing institutional capacity of public authorities and stakeholders and efficient public administration’), are asked to identify any such support during the registration process.

EPSA is looking for projects which will assist the European Commission Structural Reform Support Service (SRSS) in their objective of spreading good practice in public administrations across the EU.

Previous EPSA participants may re-submit projects from the previous EPSA editions insofar as they are based on a material adaptation, update and/or extension of past projects, including the achievement of significant results since any previous submission.